No. 12 New job

Fashion

On Friday I started a new job (secondary to my job in retail) at a catering company and events bar. Although I had no experience in either catering or bar work I was excited to start as a lot of my friends had worked for the company before and would come home tired but I could tell they had had a good day. 

Our group of 16 was picked up from Southampton on Friday afternoon for the 3 hour journey to Winbledon. Our job that night was to cater to Kings College School for their end of year dinner. Carrying plates out and clearing them up as quickly as possible for three courses was our main role as well as topping wine bottles up and tidying up at the end of the night. For the 9 hours I was working it didn’t feel like I had done much work other than the quick rushes to clear up tables- it was easy money! The hardest part was balancing plates on my arm while clearing up and I’ve been left with a hefty bruise but everything else was common sense. 

Saturday was an early morning to drive to Newbury to work on one of the mobile bars at Newbury racecourse. Again with no experience on a bar I was nervous about the large crowds all waiting for a pint. We had the best view of the track as our bar was opposite the finishing line and although my one bet didn’t come in it was great seeing the horses race past and people either ripping up their betting slips in anger or celebrating their win. 

Our day flew past as spectators came to the bar between races and we had a brief rest as the race went off. By the end of the day I was covered in beer and cider but enjoyed working with my friends doing something very different to my normal job. 

This work will be continuous over summer so I can’t wait to see where the next event takes me! 

Leave a Reply

